5th International Meeting on Electrowetting


last update:  16-May-06



Rochester Museum and Science Center

Rochester, NY  (US)

31 May to 2 June, 2006


Wednesday afternoon, 31 May, 2006, Bausch Auditorium (RMSC)


13:30 to 17:30                  Oral Session #1

Chair:  T. Blake

13:30 to 13:45


13:45 to 14:30

F. Mugele, Twente University (NL): Electrowetting beyond the Lippmann regime

14:30 to 15:00

K. Adamiak, University of Western Ontario (CA): Numerical Model for the Contact Angle in Electrowetting

15:00 to 15:30

J. Heikenfeld and A. J. Steckl, University of Cincinnati (US): Electrofluidics research at the University of Cincinnati for high performance photonics optics, computing, and biomedical devices

15:30 to 16:00

Coffee break

Chair:  T.B. Jones

16:00 to 16:30

Glen McHale, Nottingham-Trent University (UK): Electrowetting on super-hydrophobic surfaces

16:30 to 17:00

T. Krupenkin, A. Taylor, M. Hodes, and P. Kolodner, Lucent Technologies (US): Reversible transitions on electrically controllable nanostructured superhydrophobic surfaces

17:00 to 17:30

M. Maillard and B. Berge, Varioptic SA (FR): Spreading condition for two liquids on a surface and relation with electrowetting hysteresis

17:30 to 18:00

R. Garrell, University of California at Los Angeles (US): Droplet-based nanofluidics with nonaqueous liquids:  mechanisms and applications




Wednesday evening, 31 May, 2006, Strathallan Hotel (Canterbury Room)


19:00 to 21:00   Poster session with pizza, salad, wine & beer

poster #




N. Smith et al., University of Cincinnati (US)

Wide-angle beam steering electrowetting devices


M. Dhindsa et al., University of Cincinnati (US)

Single-liquid and competitive electrowetting on nanostructured surfaces


D.Y. Kim et al., University of Cincinnati (US)

Field effect liquid transistor


D. Han et al., University of Cincinnati (US)

Electrofluidic control for DNA manipulation and fluorescent detection


R. Baviere, J. Boutet and Y. Fouillet: LETI, Grenoble (FR)

Fast transportation of droplets by EWOD actuation


C. Scheid and P. Witomski, Lab. LMC-IMAG, (FR)

Mathematical aspects of electrowetting


P. Bayiati, A. Tserepi, E. Gogolides, K. Misiakos, S.E. Kakabakos, P.S. Petrou, IMEL-NCSR Demokritos (GR)

Electrowetting-based fluidic transport on hydrophobic fluorocarbon films deposited in plasma


P. H. Steen, M. J. Vogel and P. Ehrhard, Cornell University (US)

Pitting electrokinetics against capillarity at small scales:  the electroosmotic droplet switch


L. Tanguy: LAAS-CNRS, Toulouse (FR)

Theoretical considerations for continuous electrowetting in U-shaped channel sections


A.D. Staicu and F. Mugele. Twente University (NL)

Electrowetting-induced thin film instability


R. Hayes and S. Bei. Philips Research Labs (NL)

Electrowetting-based displays:  bringing microfluidics alive on-screen


Y. Ishida, L. Davoust, and Y. Fouillet, LETI, Grenoble (FR)

Drop convective flow under electrowetting-based actuation


R. Miraghaie, J. D. Sterling and A. Nadim, Keck Graduate Institute (US)

On-Demand Electrowetting-on-Dielectric (OD-EWOD)


F. Krogmann, University of Freiburg, IMTEK (DE)

Properties of a MEMS-based tunable lens system fabricated in all-silicon-technology


N. Verplanck, J.C. Camart, and V. Thomy, University of Lille (FR)

EWOD valves for the creation of a microdroplet array:  cancerous cell isolation


Kwan H. Kang, Pohang University of Science and Technology (KR)

 Dynamics of electrowetting of a liquid-iiquid interface in a cylindrical tube


Eric Baird and Kamran Mohseni, University of Colorado  (US)

Modeling of Droplet Velocity Under Electrowetting Actuation



Shaun Berry, MIT Lincoln Laboratory (US)

Reliability of electrowetting on amorphous fluoropolymers


Debalina Chatterjee, UCLA (US)

Lab on a chip applications of a digital microfluidic platform

Thursday morning, 1 June, 2006, Bausch Auditorium (RMSC)

8:30 to 12:30            Oral Session #2

Chair:  S. Kuiper

8:30 to 9:15

B. Berge, Varioptic SA (FR): How electrowetting interfaces with optics, mechanics and chemistry in liquid lenses

9:15 to 9:45

A. H. Tkaczyk, D. Huh, and S. Takayama, University of Michigan (US): Electrowetting for fluid flow pattern transition

9:45 to 10:15

B. M. Law*, K. Kareh, E. Gurevich, J.-C. Baret, R. Seemann and S. Herminghaus, *Kansas State University, (US): Influence of topography on microfluidic flow

10:15 to 10:45

Coffee break

Chair: G. McHale

10:45 to 11:30

R. Fair, Duke University (US): Biomedical Applications of Electrowetting Systems

11:30 to 12:00

T. Kanagasabapathi, L. Hartley, and K. Kaler, University of Calgary (CA): An integrated surface microfluidic system for bioapplications

12:00 to 12:30

Y. Fouillet, D. Jary , J. M. Roux, R. Blervaque, P. Clementz, R. Baviere, C. Peponnet, LETI, Grenoble (FR): Modular EWOD fluidic chip design approach for quick biological application development

12:30 to 13:30

Box lunch on Museum grounds


Thursday afternoon, 1 June, 2006, Bausch Auditorium (RMSC)

13:30 to 17:15                   Oral Session #3

Chair:  F. Mugele

13:30 to 14:15

M. Washizu, Tokyo University (JP):  Electromechanical transport of aqueous droplets

14:15 to 14:45

B. Shapiro, University of Maryland (US): Electrowetting statics and dynamics: dominant physical effects, energy minimizations, and fluid dynamic simulations

14:45 to 15:15

J. D. Sterling, R. Miraghaie A. I. Hickerson, and A. Nadim, Keck Graduate Institute (US): Electrowetting Control of Droplet Dynamics and Bioassays

15:15 to 15:45

Coffee break

Chair:  M. Washizu

15:45 to 16:30

J. Ralston, University of South Australia (AU): Electrowetting in aqueous and non-aqueous systems: saturation and other non-Lippmann behavior

16:15 to 16:45

A. G. Papathanasiou, G. Pashos, and A. G. Boudouvis, National Technical University of Athens (GR): Investigation of contact angle saturation mechanisms: experiments and computations

16:45 to 17:15

R. Ahmed, T. Tombs*, and T.B. Jones, *NexPress Solutions, Inc. and University of Rochester (US): Using dielectrophoresis to control the flow of insulating liquids

18:00 to 21:00

Bus departs at 18:00 for picnic at Webster Beach Park

Friday morning, 2 June, 2006, Bausch Auditorium (RMSC)


8:30 to 12:30            Oral Session #4

Chair:  B. Berge

8:30 to 9:15

Terence Blake, Eastman Kodak Co., ret. (UK): Dynamics of electrowetting:  where do we go from here?

9:15 to 9:45

H. Oprins, Catholic University of Leuven (BE): Cooling of microelectronics by electrostatic actuated liquid droplets

9:45 to 10:15

V. Bahadur and S. Garimella, Purdue University (US): Energy-based modeling of electrowetting induced droplet movement

10:15 to 10:45

Coffee break

Chair:  A. Steckl

10:45 to 11:15

K.-L. Wang and T. B. Jones, University of Rochester (US): Transient dynamics of the moving meniscus

11:15 to 11:45

J. Kedzierski, Lincoln Labs, MIT (US): Influence of material properties on the electrocapillary voltage of zero charge

11:45 to 12:15

S. Kuiper, Philips Research Labs (NL): Voltage reduction in electrowetting-on-dielectric

12:15 to 12:30





Generous financial support is gratefully acknowledged from the following companies: Advanced Liquid Logic, Inc. (US), Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd. (Japan), Eastman Kodak Co. (US), Philips Research Labs. (NL), Samsung Electromechanics (KR), TREK, Inc. (USA) and Varioptic, Inc. (FR).